Suuri Sarjakuvakirja

Suuri Sarjakuvakirja (which translates to ‘Big Comic Book’) is a series published by Kustannus Oy Jalava in Finland between 1984 thru till 1986. The series contains 3 softcover comic books, publishing classic comic strips for a variety of comic book heroes. Suuri Sarjakuvakirja also contain some brief details about the authors of each comic strip.

Published in black and white internal pages, with color only found on the cover, the comic books measure 21cm x 29.7cm, containing 151 pages for the first 2 editions then 143 pages for the third edition. Text is published in Finnish language.

The Phantom makes an appearance in Suuri Sarjakuvakirja edition number 1 only, alongside a variety of other comic book characters, including Garth, Paul Temple, Little Nemo in Slumberland, Radio Patrol, Red Ryder, Rusty Riley, Sappo, Happy Hooligan and Steve Canyon.

The Phantom story published is ‘Little Tommy’, written by Lee Falk and illustrated by Ray Moore, a classic newspaper comic strip from 1937. 24 pages are dedicated to the Phantom. Cover art for Suuri Sarjakuvakirja edition number 1 is by Jukka Murtosaari.

The front and back cover of Suuri Sarjakuvakirja edition number 1 featuring the Phantom can be seen below.

A sample of internal pages can be seen below, with a page published giving us some information about the Phantom and his creators.

Suuri Sarjakuvakirja editions number 2 and 3 can be seen below.