Kippari Kalle

Kippari Kalle (which translates to ‘Popeye the Sailor Man’) is a comic book series published in Finland by Sanoma Osakeyhtiö from 1952 thru until 1955. 38 editions were published monthly containing a mix of comic book characters per edition, including Flash Gordon, Felix The Cat, Blondie, Mandrake the Magician, Prince Valiant, Rip Kirby and more.

The edition number of each comic book was reset each year, with a new edition number 1 commencing in January of the new year. In 1952, 2 editions were published and in 1953, 1954 and 1955, 12 editions were published per year, a total of 38 editions.

Kippari Kalle also featured the Phantom, appearing within 22 (edition numbers: 1952 – 1, 1953 – 1, 2, 7, 9, 11, 12, 1954 – 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 1955 – 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12) of the 38 comic books. He is found on 10 covers, either as a full page illustration or a profile image. The Phantom is published under the Finish title of ‘Naamio’, shortened from ‘Mustanaamio’ which he is more commonly known as in Finland.

Kippari Kalle are published in full color containing 32 pages and measure 18.5cm x 25.5cm. All text found in the comic books is in Finish. The comic books which feature the Phantom on the cover can be seen below.