Héroes Modernos – Novelas Gráficas

Héroes Modernos – Novelas Gráficas (which translates to ‘Modern Heroes – Graphic Novels’) is a series published by Editorial Dólar in Madrid, Spain from 1966 thru until 1967. A total of 50 comic book edition are found in the series, with a variety of comic book characters published, including Flash Gordon, Mandrake the Magician, Ben Bolt, Prince Valiant, Rip Kirby, Julieta Jones and more.

The Phantom is published in 7 editions, with 66 black and white pages found in each edition, measuring 24cm x 17cm. Each edition wasn’t solely dedicated to the one character, but often included up to 2 comic book characters, with complete comic strip stories published in each edition.

Cover art on all 7 comic books featuring the Phantom are by José Luis de la Fuente. We see the Phantom in his red costume as he’s know in Spain. Interestingly, the Phantom’s eyes are seen through the mask on all illustrations on the front cover.