Héroes de Papel

Héroes de Papel (which translates to ‘Paper Heroes’) is a series jointly published by Círculo de Lectores and Buru Lan, S.A. De Edicionnes in Barcelona, Spain from 1984 thru till 1985. The series contains 5 hardcover comic books, with the Phantom appearing in edition number 4. The other comic book characters found in the series are Flash Gordon, Asterix, Mortadel y filemón and Lucky Luke.

Released in December 1984, edition number 4 contains the heading of ‘El Hombre Enmascarado’, featuring the Phantom. The album style comic book contains 94 full color pages measuring 29.5cm x 22.5cm. It contains 3 Phantom comic strip stories, The Singh Brotherhood by Lee Falk and Ray Moore, plus The Gray Gang and Bent Beak Broder by Lee Falk and Wilson McCoy. The front and back cover can be seen below.

Héroes de Papel is actually a reissue of a special El Hombre Enmascarado ‘Extra’ edition released by Buru Lan, S.A. De Edicionnes in November 1983. It contains 2 of the 3 stories found within that comic book. The El Hombre Enmascarado ‘Extra’ edition can be seen below.