Comics Weltbekannte Zeichenserien

Comics Weltbekannte Zeichenserien (which translates to ‘World-famous Series of Characters’) is a comic book series published by Carlsen Verlag (a division of Carlsen Comics) in Hamburg, Germany between 1971 and 1975. 7 issues were released (the last issue is labeled number 8, however number 6 was not published).

Carlsen Verlag is a subsidiary of the Danish publishing house which in turn belongs to the Swedish media company Bonnier. The branch was founded on the 25th of April, 1953 in Hamburg, Germany.

The publisher’s program focuses on books for children, i.e. Harry Potter, Rugrats, Naruto, Twilight, and The Adventures of Tintin. By 2005 Carlsen Comics, the publisher’s comic division, had grown to be one of the three biggest comic book publishers in Germany. Carlsen is one of the ten biggest publishers of children’s books.

These softcover books are printed with black and white internal pages, running for 144 pages, measuring 24cm x 34cm.

Comics Weltbekannte Zeichenserien is a newspaper strip anthology series containing diverse comic book genres, created by various renowned artists. Comic book characters found in this series include Andy Capp, Rip Kirby, Popeye, Dick Tracy, Peanuts, Blondie, Felix and many more.

The Phantom is another character to feature in the series, appearing in edition numbers 1, 2 and 5, also making a small appearance on the cover of these 3 editions, as seen below.